Silicone mold and uncolored TARDIS lollypop

Though melting in the humidity, and remarkably un-blue, this is a very tasty TARDIS

Not long now until the second half of the Doctor Who season starts up again – and I admit to being a bit Who-mad about it all.  I’ve made miniature TARDISes, TARDIS cake-pops, and now (and my most difficult challenge yet) – TARDIS lollipops, with homemade silicone molds from 3d printed positives.

First off, sugar is a mighty peculiar substance – doing all sorts of freaky stuff depending on temperature reached (which equates to water content).  I went through close to a bag of sugar doing repeated (and tasty) iterations on my lollipop making technique, and I’m still not entirely happy.  The lollipop above, while the mold is working marvellously, is let down by a distinct lack of blueness.  I have, in previous attempts, dumped several teaspoons of color into the mixture, but this generally results in a green TARDIS (which is not right at all – chameleon circuit or no chameleon circuit).  The sugar mix starts to turn yellow at the hard-crack stage, much to my dismay.

But enough about the weirdness of sugar!  My TARDIS mold making methods!

Print and Make your own TARDIS Lollipop Molds

  1. First, I printed a ‘positive’ of the lollipop I wanted to make – initially I did this by simply printing a huge chunky TARDIS model and sticking it on a lollipop stick, but this turned out to be a bit excessive.  My second attempt had me create a ‘positive-inna-box’ style of form.
  2. Once I had the positive-inna-box, I got my tube of food-safe silicone sealant and while wearing gloves smoothed the sealant into the little nooks and crannies of the box, trying to make the first layer as thin as reasonable.  This was left to cure for several days.
  3. After a second application and curing wait, I delicately peeled the silicone mold out of the box – and voila!  One TARDIS shaped mold.  It smelled like vinegar for another few days, so I washed it, and then waited a bit longer to make sure it was really cured.
Here’s a picture of both of my mold types – the obvious positive-onna-stick mold type on the left, and the thinner, more reliable, positive-inna-box type on the right.  Both TARDISes are melting because of the high humidity we’ve got just now.  Darn you, sugar, and your peculiar properties!
Two TARDIS lollies, two TARDIS molds, two TARDIS mold forms

On left - the chunky, first pass mold form. On right, the new positive-inna-box mold type.

Once you’ve got the mold, I recommend the following recipe – though it does make quite a few lollipops and if you want to make fewer, then halfing the recipe is entirely do-able.  The only issue you may run into is finding a pot that will let you clip the sugar thermometer to the side and narrow enough to keep the sugar mixture deep enough to take an accurate reading.

Word for the wise – when the temperature gets to the required 301 degrees, take the pot OFF the heat, and perhaps even place the pot on something cold.  Either that, or pour the mix into a pyrex pouring jug for easier pouring and to stop the sugar from continuing to increase in temperature.  Burnt sugar does not a tasty lollipop make :(

I can just imagine in one of his lighter moments, the Doctor sucking on a TARDIS shaped lollipop.  Who knows (ho ho!) maybe someone at the BBC will see this and whip up a few themselves ;)

PS. TARDIS cakepops.  Oh yes, I went there.  Took them to work and everything!

TARDIS cake pops, with fondant signs and TicTac lanterns

TARDIS cake pops, with fondant signs and TicTac lanterns

