Concept art from Deus Ex: Human Revolutions, for Adam Jensen's apartment (with candelabra)

Concept art for Jensen's apartment in Deux Ex: Human Revolutions - note the candelabra

I’ve been playing Deus Ex: Human Revolution, and reveling in the stealth-puzzle options available to me.  It means I spend a lot of time in one area, creeping around like the Creeping Kid, and because I’ve turned off the object highlighting and mission arrows, I need to actually look at the environments.

One environment that struck me more than many others, was Jensen’s apartment – the second the artificially intelligent door opened for me, I was drinking in the strong Bladerunner vibe.  Noir-ish lighting spills through room high, slatted windows, casting long dark shadows across the jumble and accumulated debris of Adam’s life and upheaval – it feels like a refugee from Tron was put under house arrest in a long abandoned, 18th Century Parisian flat.  In short, I liked it.

There was, however, one object, one prop, that caught hold of both of my eyeballs and wouldn’t let go – the Baroque styled candelabra on the coffee table, with three blue ‘glowing tubes’ in place of candles.  It reminded me very strongly of the chairs by Lee Broom, and of Quorra’s settee in Tron Legacy.  I liked it so much, in fact, that I modelled and printed my own version.

Behold – the Deus Ex inspired glow-stick candelabra.

3d printed version of the Deus Ex candelabra, with glow sticks

3d printed in 8 parts, the Deus Ex inspired candelabra

I’ll grant you – it’s a little wobbly before being glued together, and I’d like to do some more iteration on the glow-stick holding cups, but not bad for something that I (with my mediocre modelling skills) put together over the weekend after being stopped dead in my tracks by a prop in a video game.  I mean, really, when you think about it, the whole thing is gloriously absurd :)

