Murder of Crow shaped Cookies - Inspired by Bioshock Infinite

A Murder of Murder of Crow Cookies

I forget, sometimes, that I’m in the United States – when I made TARDIS shaped cakepops for the office, quite a few people had no idea what a TARDIS was.  (Calm down, Brits in the back!)  I’m quietly confident that this time, everyone in the office will know exactly what I’m referencing – the Murder of Crow vigor bottles from Bioshock Infinite.

The cookies, seen above, are entirely edible – but quite weirdly made.  I 3d printed a cookie cutter, using a little cookie cutter making application - I took one of the many publicly available images of the Murder of Crows bottle, and traced around the outline.  I tried dying the cookie dough black, but  they came out purple – which is fine and dandy.  Instead of vanilla flavoring, I used raspberry.  Black colored icing was carefully (but – let’s be honest here, messily) applied to the surface, and gold dragees* (silver balls to people from the UK) embedded while it was still wet.  Then, I sprayed them from a low angle with bronze, edible lustre spray – awesome stuff!  Lastly I cut out the tags from thinly rolled fondant, drew on the stars and crow outline with an edible decorating pen, and ‘glued’ it to the cookie using warm strawberry jam.

Voila!

I only made ten of them – life is too short, after all. :)

*If you read the wikipedia link, the US Food and Drug administration consider metallic dragees to be inedible decorations – whereas I can confirm that in the UK they’re eaten with crunchy gusto.  I will leave it up to the individual whether they want to pick them off the cookie or not.  Crunch, crunch, crunch.